A Brief Introduction to the Eight Limbs

A Brief Introduction to the Eight Limbs

July 2, 2023

A Brief Introduction to the Eight Limbs

Written by : pathofyoga

The philosophical foundations of yoga encompass a rich and diverse tapestry of ancient Indian thought, which has evolved and expanded over thousands of years. Yoga, in its essence, is not merely a physical practice or exercise regimen but a holistic approach to life, encompassing physical, mental, and spiritual dimensions. 

The word “yoga” is derived from the Sanskrit word “yuj,” which means union or connection. At its core, yoga seeks to unify the individual self with the universal consciousness, leading to self-realisation and liberation from suffering.

One of the earliest and most influential texts on yoga philosophy are the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali. Patanjali, believed to have lived around 200 CE, systematically outlined the principles and practices of yoga in his text. He presented the concept of the eight limbs of yoga, which provide a comprehensive framework for personal growth and self-realization. The eight limbs guide students on a transformative journey that encompasses physical, mental, and spiritual dimensions.

Here’s an overview of each of them:

  1. Yamas: These are ethical principles that guide one’s behavior towards others, including non-violence, truthfulness, non-stealing, moderation, and non-greed.
  1. Niyamas: These are personal observances that relate to self-discipline, such as cleanliness, contentment, self-study, self-discipline, and devotion to a higher power.

Please note:  Whilst the Yamas and Niyamas are often presented as the morals and ethics of Yoga, for Patanajli they were more importantly behaviours that would lead to more successful meditation.

  1. Asanas: What Patanjali was referring to with this word, was how we sit. In the modern world, it is understood as Yoga Posture Practice. Asanas improve strength and flexibility, cultivate balance, and enhance posture. They also help release tension, promote relaxation, and prepare the body for meditation.
  1. Pranayama: This involves conscious control and regulation of the breath. These techniques are aimed at regulating and channeling the breath, which influences the flow of vital energy in the body. Pranayama exercises help calm the mind and increase vitality.
  1. Pratyahara: This limb involves withdrawing the senses from external distractions and turning inward. It is the practice of detaching oneself from the influence of external stimuli.
  1. Dharana: Focused concentration, which involves training the mind to lead to a state of uninterrupted awareness. It involves training the mind to develop single-pointed attention on a specific object, thought, or sound. It is often practiced in conjunction with meditation.
  1. Dhyana: Dhyana is meditation, a state of deep contemplation and inner absorption. In this state, the mind becomes calm and attuned, leading to heightened awareness and a sense of peace.
  1. Samadhi: Samadhi is the ultimate goal of yoga, often described as a state of blissful union or enlightenment. It is a state of complete absorption, where the practitioner experiences a profound connection with the divine or the universal consciousness.

The eight limbs of yoga provide a roadmap for personal growth, self-discovery and inner transformation. By integrating the eight limbs into your yoga practice, you can begin to harmonise your body, cultivate mental clarity and emotional well-being, and awaken your spiritual potential.

Here are some practical ways to integrate each limb:

  1. Yamas: Incorporate the principles of non-violence, truthfulness, non-stealing, moderation, and non-greed into your interactions both on and off the mat. Practice kindness and compassion towards yourself and others, speak with honesty, practice moderation in your actions and consumption, and cultivate contentment.
  1. Niyamas: Embrace the personal observances of cleanliness, contentment, self-discipline, self-study, and devotion. Maintain a clean and organised practice space, find joy and satisfaction in the present moment, establish a consistent practice routine, engage in self-reflection and self-inquiry, and cultivate a sense of devotion or connection to something greater than yourself.
  1. Asanas: Dedicate time to practice physical postures mindfully. Choose a variety of asanas that promote strength, flexibility, and balance. Pay attention to optimal alignment and breath awareness during each pose. Practice regularly and with a sense of mindfulness, focusing on the present moment and the sensations in your body.
  1. Pranayama: Incorporate breath control techniques into your practice. Begin your session with a few rounds of deep, conscious breathing to calm the mind and connect with the breath. Explore different pranayama techniques such as alternate nostril breathing, ujjayi breath, or belly breathing to regulate the breath and enhance energy flow.
  1. Pratyahara: Prioritise moments of stillness and introspection during your practice. Close your eyes, withdraw your senses from external distractions, and turn your attention inward. Create a quiet and serene space to practice pratyahara, allowing yourself to observe your thoughts, emotions, and sensations without judgment or attachment.
  1. Dharana: Cultivate focused concentration during your practice. Choose a focal point, such as a candle flame, a specific point on your body, or a mantra, and concentrate your attention on it. Whenever your mind wanders, gently bring it back to the chosen point of focus, training your mind to remain centered and undistracted.
  1. Dhyana: Set aside dedicated time for meditation. Start with shorter sessions and gradually increase the duration as you become more comfortable. Find a comfortable seated position, close your eyes, and allow your mind to settle. Choose a meditation technique that resonates with you, such as mindfulness meditation, loving-kindness meditation, or a mantra repetition. Practice regularly to cultivate a state of deep inner absorption and expanded awareness.
  1. Samadhi: Understand that samadhi is a state of profound realisation and union that often arises spontaneously. While you cannot force it to happen, you can create the conditions for it through diligent and sincere practice. Cultivate patience, surrender, and open yourself to the possibility of experiencing moments of unity and transcendence.

Integrating the eight limbs of yoga into your practice is a life-long process. Be patient, embrace the journey, and let the wisdom and guidance of the limbs infuse your practice with depth, purpose, and transformation.


Path of Yoga is a Yoga Alliance certified 200 hour and 300 hour Yoga Teacher Training school.

Our 200 hour Level 1 and 300 hour Level 2 courses enable you to become a Registered Yoga Teacher and gain RYT certification.

We hold Yoga Teacher Trainings throughout the year in Thailand (Chiang Mai), India (Rishikesh) and Peru (The Sacred Valley).

You can find out more about Path of Yoga and our YTT’s here.


Interested in similar topics? Read more on the Path of Yoga blog:

Delve deeper, read more:

Anatomy for yoga

Step by step (James’s vipassana)

Pigeon pose modifications